Cyprus full member of EuroHPC JU

The 29 member countries and 2 observer countries of EuroHPC
19 Jul 2019 Luxembourg - Cyprus has become a full member of the EuroHPC JU. The EuroHPC JU Governing Board has decided to accept Cyprus as 29th full member of EuroHPC. The country was already observer to EuroHPC JU. The two countries still having observer status are the UK and Malta.

Recently the EuroHPC JU accepted hosting proposoal for 5 petascale and 3 pre-exascale supercomputing hosting proposals for in total 840 million euro funding. Later this year the Research and Innovation calls will be opened.

The budget of the Joint Undertaking is provided jointly by the EU and its participating (member) countries. Supercomputing is a key priority in the Commission's proposed Digital Europe programme for 2021-2027, which includes a proposal of 2,7 billion euro for HPC in Europe in this period.

See also the article EuroHPC JU approved 840 million euro funding for eight supercomputers .

For more news and background information visit:
Ad Emmen